top of page

Amazing homemade clumpy, crunchy granola to make with kids

This post contains affilate links.

My family loves granola, but it can be so expenisve. So, I decided to make my own. Granola is easy to make at home, and my three-year-old loves helping. Making homemade granola together is an awesome learning oportunity for kids. Cooking is an authentic way to introduce skills like reading and math.

I am often disapointed by homemade granola that crumbles and falls apart. I went on a quest for homemade granola that holds its shape like store bought. After experimenting with with a variety of recipes, I have developed my best crunchy granola recipe. My family loves it. There is plenty of room for creativity in this recipe. There are two key ingredients that insures crunchy granola clusters.​

My two key ingredents that make clumpy granola every time are oat flour and sorghum syrup. Really, you can take any granola recipe, add oat flour and substitue sorgum for honey to make it hold together nicely. An important step in getting the granola to clump is to let it cool undisturbed on the baking sheet.

I use arrowhead mills oat flour. I get the sorghum from the local farm store. This recipe is adaptable. Try different grains, nuts, and seeds, and add-ins.

Dry ingredients:

4 cups rolled oats

1/2 cups sunflour seeds seeds

1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

1/4 cup oat flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 tablespoon cinnamon

Zest of one orange

Wet ingredients:

1/2 cup sorghum

1/4 cup coconut oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Optional add-ins:

Dried fruit

Coconut flakes

Quick and easy steps:

1. Preheat oven to 300F, and line a baking sheet with baking parchment paper.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl

3. Warm wet ingredients in pot over low heat until melted

4. Slowly mix wet ingredients into dry.

5. Spread in an even layer on parchment lined baking sheet.

6. Bake in preheated oven for 25 mintues

7. Remove from oven, stir well, and mix in add-ins if desired.

8. Bake an additional 12 mintues

9. Remove from oven and let cool, undisturbed on baking sheet (important)

Once it has cooled, break the granola apart and store in an airtight container. My family usually eats a whole batch in less than a week. If you want to store it longer than a few weeks, be sure to refrigerate or freeze.

Featured Posts
Explore Topics
No tags yet.
bottom of page