top of page

Time-saving tips for busy parents

Getting ready in the morning can be a hassle, especially for working parents with kids in school. We have to get dress, feed the kids, pack lunches, and get out the door on time. I'm always looking for ways to get ready quicker in the morning. I want to have time to enjoy my coffee and play with the kids before work.

The two main ideas behind my time-saving plan are: prepare and minimize. I save time by preparing certain things in advance and minimizing other tasks. Many of these time-saving tips also save money and resorces.

Prepare in advance

1. Sort outfits while folding laundry

When I fold my girls' laundry, I first sort them in to categories: tops, bottoms, etc. Then I match outfits and fold the pants inside the shirts. When it comes time to getting dressed in the morning, we just grab and outfit. No searching drawers for something that matches. This saves time and mental energy in the morning when I'm most tired.

2. Freeze snacks and meals

Make a large batch of Green Magic Smoothie and freeze portions in freezer jars. I stick them in the fridge the night before for a quick, filling breakfast. Or they can go in lunch boxes where they double as an ice pack and will be partially thawed by lunch. I also make my own frozen lunches by freezing single-serving portions of leftovers.

3. Pack the night before

Pack everything the night before. I pack lunches, diaper bags, work bags, and have them ready to go. That way I'm not running around when it's time to go. I keep a nightly checklist on my phone so I don't foget anything. It keeps me sane.

4. Prep a week at a time

Besides my nightly checklist, I have a Sunday checklist. I pack all the cloth diapers that baby will need for the week. I boil eggs to take to take to work for a snack. I prep and freeze smoothies for breakfasts during the week.

Minimize getting ready

5. Create a uniform or capsule wardrobe

Pick your favorite clothing items and create a capsule wardrobe around them. This cuts down on spending time deciding what to wear. For me, it's maxi skirts and tops. Buy several of a favorite, quality item in different colors. No one seems to notice or care if you wear the same thing everyday.

6. Shorten shower time

Save water and time by taking quicker, less feqent showers. I'm not advocating abandoning personal grooming altogether. But most of us shower and wash hair more frequently than needed. A quick soap and rinse without getting your hair wet saves time. Shampooing every other day or every 3 days should suffice for most people. Or go "no 'poo" and forego shampooing altogether.

7. Don't wear make-up

Save money and time by not bothering with make-up. I gave up make-up a few months ago. No one notices or cares. If you can't bear the thought of going make-up free, wear less make-up. Tinted creams make a great moisturizer/foundation combo with a single application needed. For a quick make-up fix, I brush bronzer on my eyelids.

8. Stop shaving

This applies to moms and dads. Saving takes more them than it's worth. And what's the point of it? Who says adults aren't supposed to have body hair? Razor companies?

Featured Posts
Explore Topics
No tags yet.
bottom of page